A The sims 3 Story

Chapter six – Problems and promises

My head was spinning.
‘Tali, shall I put the groceries in the fridge for you? It’s much too hot to leave them outside today.’
Wyatt was talking to me. I know he was, but the words sounded fuzzy and weird and I couldn’t make out what he was saying.

‘Tali? Natalia, did you hear what I said?’
‘I… yes, I heard…’
The room started to move around me. I quickly grabbed my head with my hand and squeezed my eyelids together shortly, trying to get rid of the dizziness.
It didn’t work.


‘Natalia!’

I could feel I had… fallen on the floor… hear… Wyatt scream…
‘Natalia! Tali, what’s wrong?! Wake up!’
‘Couldn’t… vision going black…. Fading away…

Wyatt

I ran to her as fast as I could and pulled her into my arms. Her eyes were closed, but she appeared to be breathing. I grabbed her arm to check her pulse. She had several bruises on the inside of her wrist. What on plumbob was going on?!

‘Natalia? Can you hear me? I’m going to call the hospital right away! Just hold on!’

‘Don’t leave me…’

__________________________________________________________

‘Is she going to be all right, doctor?’

Visiting hours had long since passed, but I was still by her side. The last few hours had been nothing less than hell. It took over ten minutes for the ambulance to show up, fifteen more to load Natalia in and drive to the hospital, and after that it had been one test after another. All that time I was forced to sit outside of her door, not allowed to go in and see how she was doing. And by the time I finally entered, Natalia was sound asleep again.

‘She’ll be alright for now,’ the female doctor in the room muttered. Her name tag called her Susan Evans. ‘Mister Adams, might I have a word with you over there?’
‘Of course.’

We moved away from her bed, closer to the sink and the closet with medical equipment. Doctor Susan Evans had a very serious look on her face that made me really nervous.
‘I’m afraid I have good news and bad news for you, mister Adams.’
‘Let’s start with the bad news,’ I mumbled.
‘The amount of platelets in your wife’s blood is currently 80.000.’

‘How many should there be?’
‘In a healthy person, about 250.000.’
‘What does that mean?’
‘Platelets make blood solidify. If your wife starts bleeding now, we will have a hard time stopping it. An amount of 25.000 platelets can cause a spontaneous haemorrhage throughout the entire body. Even with 80.000 platelets, there is a heightened risk.’

I felt my heart sink to a point near my shoes. Risk… Natalia was in danger. And there was nothing I could do against danger like this.
‘But… but there is medication for that, right?’ I asked, trying not to sound too desperate.
‘Yes, sir. I will prescribe your wife with a recipe for Prednisone. It usually does the trick of getting the amount of platelets back to normal.’

‘And if it doesn’t?’ I asked.
‘Then we will schedule an appointment to remove you wife’s spline. Such an operation works on seventy per cent of all low-platelet patients. There is a risk involved, though,’ she continued. ‘And that lands us with the good news…’
‘What? What is it?’

‘Congratulations, mister Adams. Your wife is pregnant.’

_____________________________________________________

‘Tell me again why you’re taking me sightseeing.’
He smiled at me, but didn’t stop walking for another few seconds.
‘Because I feel like it! And the doctor said fresh air and a healthy environment is good for you while you’re pregnant, so that’s more than enough reason to take you on a date.’
‘That’s more than enough reason to skip work, you mean,’ I replied. Wyatt laughed.
‘Ouch, you got me.’

‘I don’t think you can just skip like this whenever you feel like it,’ I tried to lecture him, stopping beside the road. ‘What if you’re fired?’

‘I’m sure they won’t fire me for something like this,’ Wyatt said with confidence. ‘Besides, I have a good excuse! I need to look after you. And I will. Even if I have to temporarily quit my job for it.’

‘Well, all right then,’ I gave in. ‘But don’t go overboard with it, okay?’
‘Does that mean I have your permission to take you on more dates?’ he said happily.

‘Sure.’

________________________________________________________

Wyatt kept to his word. When my baby bump became so big I couldn’t wear anything else than maternity wear anymore, he asked for a few days off at work and took me on long walks at the beach and the park.

We’d run to the swings and compete in who could go highest, as if we were little kids again.

He tried hard to make me have fun, but when he thought I wasn’t looking, his expression became grim and worrisome. I knew what was troubling him.
The medicines didn’t work.
Doctor Suzan Evans had strongly pleaded me to stay in the hospital while my platelets were at such a  low amount, but I felt fine again, so I refused and stayed by Wyatt’s side. Besides, when they found out the medicines weren’t working, the baby inside of me was already too big to start an operation. Instead, I’d give birth at the hospital, recover and then get operated.

Twenty weeks after our child was conceived, we both took a break from everything and retreated into the mountains, where, according to Thomas, there was a beautiful pond we absolutely had to see. It was beautiful indeed, but what was more impressive was what was hanging high above the water.

‘Wow! Wyatt, Look!’ I pointed. ‘How did they build that?’
‘No idea. Want to take a look?’
‘I don’t know… it looks a bit unstable,’ I muttered.
‘Aw, c’mon! We’ll be fine. If not, they wouldn’t have built it there in the first place.’

That seemed logical, so I followed Wyatt up and before I knew it, we were very, very high off the ground. I could feel the wind grabbing at my hair.
‘This is really high…’ I said nervously.
‘Hey, look! You can see Sunset Valley from up here! Let’s see if I can find our house…’

‘Wyatt, let’s go down,’ I said uncomfortably. ‘It’s dangerous up here.’

‘We won’t get blown off, you know,’ he smiled. ‘But as you wish. I think I saw a bench when we climbed up here. Let’s stop for a rest.’

We turned around and walked to the nearest exit of the bridge. I was happy I could get off the thing. It seemed really unstable. What if we fell? We both wouldn’t survive that. Pondering over the dangers of death, I followed Wyatt off the stairs.
And then I felt it.

‘Wyatt! Come sit with me, quick!’
‘What is it?’ he said, alarmed at my voice. ‘Is something wrong?’
‘Just sit down with me, please. There’s something I need to show you.’

We sat ourselves on the worn-out, wooden bench. I shoved closer towards Wyatt.
‘Give me your hand for a bit.’
He held out his arm, confused as to what was going to happen.

‘…!’

‘I felt it! The baby! It kicked!’
I smiled and nodded. Wyatt hugged me and planted a kiss on my forehead, pulling me closer to him.

‘We should name it,’ I muttered softly. ‘Do you think it’s a boy, or a girl?’
‘Does it matter?’ Wyatt grinned. ‘Let’s give it a name that you can give to both.’

I put my hands on my stomach and felt the child inside of me move towards the warmth. Whether it was a boy or a girl, this baby would be loved, of that I was sure.
‘Let’s see… we’ll name you…’

‘I think it’s your turn to name this time,’ Wyatt whispered. ‘You’ve had a name in mind for weeks now, haven’t you?’
I smiled softly. He knew everything.

‘Micah… how does Micah sound?’ I whispered. ‘That way it’s alright if it’s a boy or a girl.’
‘I think it’s perfect, Tali,’ he whispered back. ‘Let’s take it back here once it’s born. Just the three of us, in a few months.’

‘Promise.’
He pressed his lips gently on mine. I kissed him back and for a while, we were unaware of everything around us. Just me and him, in our own world.

‘The moon’s already out,’ Wyatt said finally. ‘Let’s go home, Natalia.’
‘Sure.’

As he got up and started to walk away, I hesitated. If we were going to come back here in the future… there was something I had to do now…

‘Tali, are you coming?’ Wyatt yelled. ‘It’ll be pitch black if we don’t leave now.’
‘Coming!’ I said quickly, and turned away from the bench. Micah moved around again in my belly. I softly petted my bump and followed my husband.
‘Let’s go home.’

8 responses

  1. I hope Tali is going to be okay 😦

    BUT AWWWW. The chapter was so adorable!

    August 1, 2012 at 23:50

    • Heheh ^^ thank you ^^
      It wasn’t supposed to be, though. I planned for the couple cuteness to end at chapter five. But they were just so cute together, even ingame, all the time, that I couldn’t resist xD

      August 11, 2012 at 12:47

  2. Awww I really hope that she is okay :/

    I like the name Micah though, it’s cute. As was the whole chapter :3

    August 2, 2012 at 15:13

    • I had problems coming up with gender-neutral names. I mean, I knew Robin. But that’s the parrot. And Ashley, but even though it’s a neutral name it just sounds girl-ish to me.
      And after that, I didn’t know any nice ones anymore 0.o

      August 11, 2012 at 12:48

  3. What?! No no no, she should not be climbing up on high rope fences above water! What if she falls and cuts herself and hemmorages?! Wyatt should be protecting her better than that!

    He’s still cute though 🙂

    August 5, 2012 at 05:21

  4. JourneyG

    Cute ch. I loved seeing Susan doing her doctoring thing. 🙂 Must add this to my “to read list”.

    August 13, 2012 at 06:48

  5. Uh oh, I have a bad feeling about this thing she has 😦 If the medicine isn’t working and she’s about to give birth.. There’s a very high chance she’ll die at this point, isn’t there? 😦 I hope she’ll be all right, but I just have a very bad feeling about this :/

    The pond looks beautiful, that bridge thing looks amazing! :O

    August 29, 2012 at 15:16

    • That brige is so, so, SO ugly-looking in game! It’s one of my most horrible buildings, I think. But strangely enough it looked all right in the pictures…

      August 29, 2012 at 20:10

Leave a Reply

