A The sims 3 Story

May holidays and such

Dear readers,

The existence of this post probably says it all already, but it doesn’t look like I’m going to be able to finish the next chapter before the end of the week. I’ll go home on friday, where I’ll stay for a full week because of the holidays. I can’t take my game with me during that time, so I’m afraid the next update will have to wait for quite a while. >.< I’m very sorry!

On another note- I got the suggestion of making a video special about Raven, Nikola and Selene. I’ve never made videos before and don’t have any experience, but it does seem like something fun to do. Are there any readers who would like to see said special, I wonder? =) (Note that it will not be all that good, being my first time and all. >.<)

At any rate- I’m very sorry about the lack of the weekly update, for next week, as well. I’ll try and write ahead during my days back home to see if I can make up for lost time afterwards. =)

Please take care, everyone. =)

-Yimi

10 responses

  1. annasommer

    Hi Yimi,
    thanks for the info- and you just GO and enjoy that free time ahead *lol*
    About the video, sorry, I have no advice here, never tried that myself- but I can say that I for my part would love to see what you will come up with ^^

    April 25, 2013 at 21:33

    • Thank you! I will try. ^^ It’s strange, I was so busy with school before and now I suddenly have a full week to do absolutely nothing… such a weird feeling xD
      I’ll try and do the best amateur job I can, hehe. =)

      April 26, 2013 at 21:37

  2. Enjoy your time off! God knows we could all use some. (: Don’t worry about the updates! We’re not going anywhere.

    Also, I’d love to see a video! iMovie works great for making them.

    April 26, 2013 at 04:25

  3. Have fun with your time off, 🙂 Don’t worry about me I am not going ANYWHERE! It would be cool to see a movie of the vamp kids and Raven. 😀

    April 26, 2013 at 05:27

    • Sorry for the late reply! ^^

      Yay, thank you =D Looks like a lot of people are in for the idea. I’ll do my best to make something decent of it, hehe.

      April 30, 2013 at 17:42

  4. Take all time youd like. We wont go anywhere

    Id love to see the special ^_^ Im not the best film maker myself, but I do have few tips. When you film, you should use camerman mode to get better angles. Also, insted of moving camera manualy, try saving few camera positions youll need using alt+(5,6,7,8,9) in camerman mode (if that doest work try using ctrl insted. I always mess them up :p) then when you record you just press the number which you saved the position under and youll get nice camera movement. Enable moviemakercheats via ‘testingcheatsenabled on’ and ‘moviemakercheatsenabled on’ (again, if tgis isnt correct type ‘help’ in cheat bar) I still havent tested out animation player, but it looks like it could help.

    Those were for making shoots. Now onto the editing. When you take clips, always start before the animation and finish few seconds after its finushed. That way, youll prevent losing parts of animation and extras can always be trimmed in movie editing program. For the program, I cant help you much since Ive been zsing only windows movie maker and it has only very basic options. When you reach the point of putting the film together, you should make every clip short. If you watch carefully, youll notice that every movie has short scenes which switch often. For example, if you have two people talking, there would be few clips with person A and few clips with person B and maybe a clip with both of them rather than one long clip with both of them. But if there was a birds eye clip of, for example, soldiers running, it would be longer than a clip with one person speaking since there would be more things in the clip which reqire attention. Its important for scenes to switch to keep the watchers interested. After al, its a movie, not a picture! 😛

    Also, Id suggest watching few videos and paying attention to details. Dont forget high video setting in game too! And Id suggest turning off sound capturing.

    I think Im finished now 😛 I hope that my tips are useful to you. I probably shouldnt have wrotten so much XD Im not even an experienced sims film maker. Ive only made few movies which I havent shared online. Oh well.

    Im looking forwards to your video 🙂

    April 26, 2013 at 08:28

    • Sorry for the late reply! ^^

      Wow, thank you so much for the tips! =O I didn’t know the game let you save camera positions, that will be sure to come in handy.

      I did notice movies with really long shots in it become uninteresting soon… I’ll keep it in mind. ^^ Now let’s see if I can keep it at least a little interesting, hehe.

      They really were! Thank you very much, I feel like I have a bigger change of succeeding now. How come you haven’t shared your movies online, though? I bet they’re very good! =)

      April 30, 2013 at 17:47

      • I’m glad I was able to help 🙂

        I started filming quite some films in TS2, but none of them I pulled out until the end. With TS3 I only made films which were required for a competition (I was allowed to mix sims in a school competition! Who would turn down such an offer?!) which are more of educational films than entertaining ones, and since the competition is still going on, I’m not sure if I’m allowed to share them. I don’t have a youtube profile either :b Though, I hope that I’ll be able to share some videos in future!

        April 30, 2013 at 19:14

  5. Have a good time hope u write again soon

    April 26, 2013 at 18:36

    • Sorry for the late reply! ^^

      Thank you. =) I’ll get back to writing as soon as the vacation time is over and I’ve figured the video thingey out.
      Take care!

      April 30, 2013 at 17:48

Leave a Reply

